One of the objectives of the National Telecom policy-2012 is "Strive to create One Nation - One License" across services and service areas.

The Government has decided to grant Unified License (UL) after considering the recommendations of TRAI for Unified Licenses.

Authorization under Unified License comprises for any one or more services listed below:

  • 1. Unified License (All Services)

  • 2. Access Service (Service Area-wise)

  • 3. Internet Service (Category-A with All India jurisdiction)

  • 4. Internet Service (Category-B with jurisdiction in a Service Area)

  • 5. Internet Service (Category-C with jurisdiction in a Secondary Switching Area)

  • 6. National Long Distance (NLD) Service

  • 7. International Long Distance (ILD) Service

  • 8. Global Mobile Personal Communication by Satellite (GMPCS) Service

  • 9. Public Mobile Radio Trunking Service (PMRTS) Service

  • 10. Very Small Aperture Terminal (VSAT) Closed User Group (CUG) Service

  • 11. INSAT MSS-Reporting (MSS-R) Service

  • 12. Resale of International private Leased Circuit (IPLC) Service